PDA

View Full Version : Can't get onto a site I belong to


jilly
01-07-2007, 08:10 PM
Does anyone know what would cause this?

I only have the problem with one site that I belong to. I have cleared my caches as someone suggested. Done a virus scan. Downloaded another server and still I can't log in. Can't even register. I get to the registration page and I can't type in anything.

I am not at all computer savvy so will try to explain that the little black line that comes up when you want to type isn't there anymore. Also, where there are boxes to check off - there's only half a box. (Told ya! :crazy:)

I would appreciate any help in very simple terms. ;) TIA

dancingdaisy
01-07-2007, 09:00 PM
maybe their site is having problems. sorry i couldnt be much help but it sounds like it may be on their end.

jilly
01-08-2007, 10:24 AM
maybe their site is having problems. sorry i couldnt be much help but it sounds like it may be on their end.

Thank you dd but I'm told that I am the only one having problems.

nanandjim
01-09-2007, 03:54 PM
Are you going to the website through an address stored in your "Favorites?" If so, try going to the website by manually typing in the site's address.

jilly
01-09-2007, 04:49 PM
Are you going to the website through an address stored in your "Favorites?" If so, try going to the website by manually typing in the site's address.

Thanks for replying Nan but I've done that. I even installed a 2nd server.Still nothing. It just seems to me that my settings were somehow changed on that site. What do you think about that?

lymom3
01-09-2007, 05:11 PM
When you cleared your cache, did you also mark the box to delete offline content? Also go to your your temp directory and delete everything in there. If you have Windows XP it's C:\Documents and Settings\[User Name]\Local Settings\temp. See if that helps.

jilly
01-09-2007, 06:20 PM
When you cleared your cache, did you also mark the box to delete offline content? Also go to your your temp directory and delete everything in there. If you have Windows XP it's C:\Documents and Settings\[User Name]\Local Settings\temp. See if that helps.

Thank you lymom - I'll work on this now and let you know.

jilly
01-09-2007, 09:18 PM
OK - I tried this lymom but no luck. This message pops up saying "Temporary Internet Files is a windows system folder and is required for Windows to run properly. It cannot be deleted." Obviously, I was in the wrong area.

Nevermind. I have just learned that if I go to that site. I just have to move the mouse around until I get the black icon/letter 'I'. Then if I click the mouse the black line appears where I can type. I'm sorry to be so illiterate.

I managed to log in and when I post now, I don't get a box to post in which I did before.

I appreciate your time but I am content to live with this until I can find someone in my life to fix this for me. Thank you.

MrsMush99
01-09-2007, 09:28 PM
Jilly, you don't delete the folder but what is IN the folder. Can you open the temp folder??

jilly
01-11-2007, 05:44 PM
Jilly, you don't delete the folder but what is IN the folder. Can you open the temp folder??

I don't know how Mrs. Mush. Today I have gone to tools and deleted cookies & files.

I have another problem since I've been monkeying around. When I'm on a site and I click onto a link, the link comes up. Now when I exit the link, I lose the site (page) that I was on with it.

What have I done, do you know?

nanandjim
01-11-2007, 06:33 PM
I don't know how Mrs. Mush. Today I have gone to tools and deleted cookies & files.

I have another problem since I've been monkeying around. When I'm on a site and I click onto a link, the link comes up. Now when I exit the link, I lose the site (page) that I was on with it.

What have I done, do you know?
Tricia has a thread at the top of this forum called "Clear your Cookies." Follow her instructions. I think that might help or at least I hope that it does. :)

MrsMush99
01-11-2007, 07:00 PM
I don't know how Mrs. Mush. Today I have gone to tools and deleted cookies & files.

I have another problem since I've been monkeying around. When I'm on a site and I click onto a link, the link comes up. Now when I exit the link, I lose the site (page) that I was on with it.

What have I done, do you know?
Jilly, try to double click on the temp folder. Hopefully it will open up and then you can clear the temp files.

When you open a link, don't click on the X try clicking on the back arrow. That should work. That's happened to me before.

jilly
01-11-2007, 07:13 PM
Jilly, try to double click on the temp folder. Hopefully it will open up and then you can clear the temp files.

When you open a link, don't click on the X try clicking on the back arrow. That should work. That's happened to me before.

Ok - just want to know if I'm getting the first part right. I go to Control panel and then clicking Folder options? If I double click that it opens same as if I right click it. Then what? There's general, view and file types. I don't see something called temporary folder in there.

I must be doing this all wrong. I'm starting to write things down when I do it.
I really appreciate your help mm - I just want you to know that I'm quite the dummy here and it may be too frustrating for you or anyone to help me.

jilly
01-14-2007, 10:41 PM
Believe it or not - I've actually figured out my problems. Thanks to all for your advice which put me on the right path.