814 users online (83 members and 731 guests)  


Websleuths News


Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 133
  1. #46
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,611
    Quote Originally Posted by christine2448 View Post
    Help???

    What is the trick to putting one of these in my siggy?

    I can't get it to work? Is the code wrong, or do I need to add code for it to work in forum?

    I can't save pic to harddrive, it won't let me...help?

    http://ult-tex.net/counts/christmas/...cgi?show=41-60




    Here is the code, nothing happens

    <a href="http://ult-tex.net/counts/index.cgi">
    <img src="http://ult-tex.net/counts/christmas/bans/14.jpg" width="468" height="60" border="0" alt="Christmas countdown banner"></a>
    Copy the image URL, and use the "insert image option" to put the image in, then type out the words that are supposed to show, then copy the link that should be there, (in this case the second thing is the image URL, and the first is the link URL) and put it into the word(s) it should be in, and it will display properly. Er, that's how I do it anyway.

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    130
    Can some kind person help me, just tried to follow the instructions without success wonder what I am doing wrong?

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,611
    Do you see the little icon that looks like a yellow postage stamp with a circle and 2 triangles on it? (I think it looks like mountains and the sun, myself.) It is on the same line as the Bold Italics and Underline options, the third icon from the right, directly below the "redo" icon. Click that, and put in *ONLY* the image URL to insert an image into your signature or a post. You don't need any other code but the URL. If you need to host your image online, ImageShack is a good place to go. They give a direct link to the image, and they don't seem to run out of bandwidth as I have seen other image hosting sites do. You can find a link to ImageShack in my signature.

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    130
    I thought that I had done it! my sig appeared BEFORE I clicked on SAVE sig!!! , where did I go wrong???

    btw...thanks for helping, I do so appreciate it.

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,611
    It previewed ok? Odd... Did you accidentally delete the image somehow maybe? You have the image you want on your hard-drive? Read to upload to an image hosting site that allows you to take a direct link and put it on other sites? (Like ImageShack etc.) What I mean is, many sites won't let you "hotlink" because it steals their bandwidth. That's one of the things I could maybe think of that would do that, if you thought you had a site that would let you use their image elsewhere, but you didn't? It took me a bit to figure out how to upload images and put them in places too. Keep fiddling with it, you'll catch on.

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    130
    Hi Kat, I have just registered with ImageShack and am awaiting their email to confirm my application. I don't know how long it will take...guess I will go and prepare dinner and maybe it will be with me on my return.

    Be back later x

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,611
    ImageShack allows you to take a direct link from an upload and use it on other sites, without regisering for an account. (Though having an account would be nice too, one place to go grab your pictures so you can link and share them.) I hope you got it working now.

    AHA! Another thing that might be a problem, did you take out the extra http? Just copy your whole link right over the "http://" that comes up in the popup box for the image URL. I forget that myself sometimes. *THAT* might have been it!

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    130
    Nope, they never got back to me to confirm my application (ImageShack), but as you mentioned it's possible upload without being a member...it doesn't matter, thought I am somewhat puzzled why they didn't.

    You have been a real help Kat, will try what you have suggested...many thanks x

    Off to give it a try now.

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,611
    Are you outside the United States? I think they have seperate sections for people who don't live in the United States. Er, surely they'd have that on an FAQ or sitemap somewhere. Seems to me I read so some time ago, but I couldn't lay hands on the other site's URLs quickly. *wry*

    ETA: Er, maybe not. I was sure I'd read when they began offering memberships that it was only for people in the US. Maybe they have since changed their minds though? Dunno. Maybe they also just lallygag as far as sending out the e-mail? Are you sure you typed the e-mail correctly? I still put @yahoo (When I want to use my gmail account.) on some of my e-mail addresses...

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    130
    Yes Kat, I am from the UK, so that could be the problem.

    Anyways, just tried without the http:// ...no luck!!! will keep on trying.

    I have to admit that I am a bit of a novice ... but determined.

    Will be back later....


  11. #56
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,611
    Quote Originally Posted by Prickle View Post
    Yes Kat, I am from the UK, so that could be the problem.

    Anyways, just tried without the http:// ...no luck!!! will keep on trying.

    I have to admit that I am a bit of a novice ... but determined.

    Will be back later....

    I see the problem! This isn't the code you need at all!

    Code:
     
    [IMGhttp://www.swapmeetdave.com/Humor/Cats/Felix_thinking.gif[/IMG]
    All you need to put into that yellow postage stamp is this:

    http://www.swapmeetdave.com/Humor/Ca...x_thinking.gif

    But, a far better link to use is this:

    http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/3...hinkinggh2.gif

    Just highlight the imageshack URL up there, press ctrl and c at the same time, and you can then paste the URL into the "insert image" popup box. I save the image to my hard-drive and uploaded it to ImageShack for you. ETA: Er, just click the imageshack link, then copy the URL from that page to put into the popup menu. Disregard the "ctrl + c" bit this time.

    ETA2: Thank goodness you'd left your signature on long enough for me to spot that!

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    130
    I was wondering Kat, could the problem lie here....Not sure if any of these that show on bottom of page in my edit signature page....just a thought.
    My brain is tired...10.55 here in UK....off to make my cocoa...then bed. Will try again tomorrow.
    Let me know if you will, if you think that this may be the problem.

    Re the ImageShack....feel sure I did do my email address right...

    Nite nite Kat x


    Signature Permissions

    Allow PHP BBCode No
    Allow HTML BBCode No
    Allow Quote BBCode Yes
    Allow HTML No

    Allow Smilies Yes
    Allow [IMG] Code Yes
    Can Upload Images for Signature No
    Can Upload Animated GIF for Signature No

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,611
    Quote Originally Posted by Prickle View Post
    I was wondering Kat, could the problem lie here....Not sure if any of these that show on bottom of page in my edit signature page....just a thought.
    My brain is tired...10.55 here in UK....off to make my cocoa...then bed. Will try again tomorrow.
    Let me know if you will, if you think that this may be the problem.

    Re the ImageShack....feel sure I did do my email address right...

    Nite nite Kat x


    Signature Permissions

    Allow PHP BBCode No
    Allow HTML BBCode No
    Allow Quote BBCode Yes
    Allow HTML No

    Allow Smilies Yes
    Allow [IMG] Code Yes
    Can Upload Images for Signature No
    Can Upload Animated GIF for Signature No
    No, we all have that. Here is a screenshot showing what you should see/do. The yellow icon on the second line above the signature/compose post area, past the icon to enter a link, the third icon from the right, is where you put in the URL/link for your image.



    Copy the direct link from ImageShack, not any of the ones with code. No <img src=" , no [IMG], none of that. *Only* the link. See the image below? See what I highlighted at the very bottom of the page? That code-free URL option is what you copy for Websleuths.


  14. #59
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    130
    Thanks Kat, I think I have got it at last...many thanks for you patience and help x

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    12,413
    I want to change the photos in my siggy, I use photobucket, but cannot remember how to change the piccys in my siggy.

    I know when I put the ones I have there now on, I didnt use the little yellow mountain icon, Im sure I just copied and pasted, but I have been trying to do it without any success. Does anyone have any advice. TIA.

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast


Similar Threads

  1. Signature help
    By icherish in forum Forum Finesse
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-30-2008, 05:42 PM
  2. Signature pic help
    By Ciara in forum Forum Finesse
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-31-2008, 10:47 PM