1036 users online (194 members and 842 guests)  

Websleuths News

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Canada - Shirley Burstall, 75, Ladysmith BC, 5 Apr 2012

The family of a 75-year-old Saanich woman missing since April 5 is holding out hope she’ll be found alive.

Shirley Burstall, a healthy and active senior who loved to travel, told her daughter she was heading to Tofino 12 days ago and hasn’t been heard from since.

Read more: http://www.timescolonist.com/Family+...#ixzz1sHLIUaGW

Description: 5'7" with short brown hair and a medium build; last account activity at a gas station in Ladysmith on April 5th.

Her car is also missing, four-door 2002 Silver Mazda Protege with license plate 287 CFG.

Worrisome - hope she is found safe and sound! I remember the case with Rita Chretien being found just in time, and hope for a good outcome for Shirley also!

PS - This is my first time starting a thread, let me know if I'm not doing it right

Article from a different source:

http://www.saanichnews.com/news/147666235.html

Saanich police Sgt. Dean Jantzen says the family filed a missing persons report on Wednesday, April 11, nearly a week after they had last heard from her.

"It's a bit of a mystery right now. We had a helicopter up (Sunday) for five hours searching the roadways," Jantzen said. "There was a mention that she may have been thinking about going out to Tofino, Ucluelet, so that roadway was searched. … But she could've (also) gone (north) towards Parksville ... or somewhere else."

http://bcove.me/qc3r3fbw

Very good video segment from local CHEK News. Lots of pictures - the one being circulated doesn't do her justice, she appears to be a really vibrant and lovely lady.

Also shows surveillance of her car at the gas station and mentions no cell phone activity. There's lots of lonely and dangerous road on this island, hoping someone has seen something! Seems like the local media is disseminating information well though.

Hoping she is found safe and soon!