1042 users online (143 members and 899 guests)  

Websleuths News

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

OK - Donna Haraway, 27, Ada, 28 April 1984

I am curious as to how to go about researching an old case in Oklahoma. I am a historical researcher, but have never really handled a cold case. What steps would I have to go through to obtain the police files on this case which is from the mid-1980's. This case is from Seminole, OK. and may be related to the Denise Haraway case that is the subject of "The Dreams of Ada" by Robert Mayer and frequently mentioned in "The Innocent Man" by John Grisham. The case I am researching is the Patty Hamilton case. I think that if this case can be solved, the it may help prove that Tommy Ward and Karl Fontenot were wrongfully convicted in the Denise Haraway case. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Interesting case, I need to read up on this more. I'm assuming that law enforcement considers the case closed, correct? I can't think of a way to get police files, but you might start with the county court clerk's office to see if you can at least make (or buy) copies of the trial transcripts. Also, if you know of any new evidence, you can petition the county for a grand jury to review. You'll need many signatures, depending upon the population of that county.

I'm an Okie, too and wish you good luck with your endeavors. For some reason, it's really difficult to get LE or OSBI to re-open a case.
    The truth is rarely pure and never simple. - Oscar Wilde

I'm an Okie!
    Where's Logan Tucker?

The 2008 murders in rural Welch of Leota and William Huls is a crime that, likely, should have been solved in the first few days after it was committed. But, like many crimes in this area (see Freeman/Bible killings and kidnappings - also in rural Welch), it has not been solved, and may never be.

$10,000 reward offered in 2008 double murder (koamtv.com)
    Marx: "Jeder nach seinen Fähigkeiten, jedem nach seinen Bedürfnissen."