1008 users online (234 members and 774 guests)  

Websleuths News

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004

    NTSB: Require ignition locks for all drunk drivers


    WASHINGTON (AP) — A federal safety board is recommending that all states require ignition interlock devices for convicted drunk drivers, including first-time offenders.........short article......

    Summary: Drunk driving causes around a third of the 32,000 traffic deaths/year....

    69% of wrong-way drivers had illegal blood alcohol levels.....

    17 states already require the device by convicted drunk drivers....
    I think it's a good idea...1/3 of 32,000 people killed = over 10,000 deaths a year prevented if we can keep drunks off the road....

    "The further we (as the human race) grow away from the natural world, the quieter the natural world becomes and the more pathological we become as a culture."........Bernie Krause

    The citizens of the United States of America have a right to applaud themselves for having given to mankind examples of an enlarged and liberal policy—a policy worthy of imitation......which gives to bigotry no sanction, to persecution no assistance.......George Washington

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Our state has been doing this for a few years. Last time it was in the news, it was $2.00 per day for ever how long you had to have it, which is probably the entire 1 year restricted license. That price has probably gone up by now.

    Some individuals have purchased their own just so they will not drive while drinking.

    Does not serve as a deterrent for those that do not care though. I would think the cost would, it is up to over $10,000 now for one dui, that includes Court costs and fines, any jail costs, interlock, auto insurance, and attorney fees. That does not include the long term costs for years after, or even having to find rides for the year of restricted driving if even allowed that.

    Unless I have included a link, it is my opinion and only my opinion that I am expressing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Iowa (again!), formerly Florida, Land of the Sun
    They require them here in Iowa if you want to get a work permit while your license is suspended on your 1st offense. I think it's mandatory to have one for a certain amount of time before you can get your license back if it's your 2nd offense. They are expensive, but I think they work in two ways: you can't start your car if you blow over a .02 and it's pretty humiliating to have to blow to start your car, then blow 5 minutes later and if you don't, your car starts honking or shuts off--ths is to keep drunk people from having someone else start their car.

Similar Threads

  1. WI - Sad Case That Shows That Drunk Drivers Need More Help.
    By Steely Dan in forum Crimes in the News
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-27-2009, 06:13 PM
  2. Hot pink plates for busted drunk drivers?
    By Beyond Belief in forum Up to the Minute
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-28-2007, 10:52 PM
  3. Tennessee Law Shames Drunk Drivers
    By Jules in forum Up to the Minute
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2006, 04:18 PM