GUILTY CO - Sheine Steine, 3, dies after finding loaded gun, Frederick, 28 Oct 2013

tezi

Proud member of WS since 2000.
Reaction score
I just read this. I graduated from high school here.

Mom's story isn't adding up.

Frederick Police Department Chief Gary Barbour says the mother of the 3-year old boy had called 911 at 9:45 a.m. to report the child had "apparently fallen and was bleeding from a head wound." She also reported the boy was not breathing.

When police and fire paramedics arrived, they found a handgun near the child.

http://www.thedenverchannel.com/new...s-of-head-wound-in-frederick-gun-found-nearby

The story has been updated. A gunshot wound is the COD. The only people in the house were him and his mom.

RIP, sweetie.

No names have been released yet, pending notifications of next of kin.

No arrests after 3-year-old Frederick boy dies of gunshot wound to head
Incident still under investigation

FREDERICK, Colo. - A 3-year-old boy in Frederick died from an accidental gunshot wound to the head, the Weld County Coroner reported Tuesday.
<snip>
"We have no reason to believe this was anything other than an accidental firing of the gun while the child handled it," Barbour confirmed to 7NEWS.

more at the link:
http://www.thedenverchannel.com/new...d-frederick-boy-dies-of-gunshot-wound-to-head

So why is there a loaded gun within reach of a three year old?

That's worth a manslaughter charge, at the very least.

FREDERICK, Colo. &#8212; The mother of a 3-year-old boy who fatally shot himself in the head was charged with criminally negligent child abuse resulting in death this week.

(snip)

The district attorney&#8217;s office said Steine found the gun inside a mattress frame in Warren&#8217;s bedroom. Warren had left Steine home alone while taking her older daughter to school, according to investigators.

http://kdvr.com/2013/12/10/mother-charged-in-death-of-frederick-3-year-old-who-shot-himself/