750 users online (83 members and 667 guests)  

Websleuths News

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

OH COLUMBUS Inmate Romell Broom Who Survived 2009 Execution Appeals to High Court

August 23, 2016
    1:28 AM ET

Ohio Inmate Romell Brown Who Survived 2009 Execution Appeals to High Court

A condemned Ohio killer who survived a 2009 botched execution is asking the U.S. Supreme Court to declare that a second attempt to put him to death would be unconstitutional.

http://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/let...6311?cid=sm_tw

I was about to say that I fully agree with the prisoner in this case, but then I read that "botched" meant they couldn't find a suitable vein to inject and I changed my mind. I draw blood for a living and it's entirely possible he messed up his own veins for this very reason. This guy abducted, raped and murdered a child. A jury of his peers found him guilty and sentenced him to death. He should NOT, IMO, get to get out of that by sticking sharp objects in himself to destroy his veins.

Somewhat O/T: I used to work in the ER in a very drug-ridden area. I had patients who had been shooting up for years and had destroyed all the veins in their arms, but we still had to find a vein to get blood from. Sometimes it was the upper arm, the cleavage area, wrist, feet, and sometimes the doc had to go in the femoral vein in the groin. Not fun, but effective.
    MOO

Botched and survived have different meanings to me than not being able to find the vein. Why didn't they just try later?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I always wondered why somebody doesn't do something about that. Then I realized I was somebody.

Lily Tomlin

Double jeaprody my AFAIC he deserves no more rights than that which he gave his murder victim. No veins necessary for electricution or a firing squad.
    ~JMO~

A grandfather is someone with silver in his hair and gold in his heart. ~Author Unknown

Long Lost Love - Discovery ID - Disappeared - Bob Harrod Case