986 users online (158 members and 828 guests)  

Websleuths News

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2017.08.03 - NAACP Warning for visiting Missouri

NAACP Warns Black Travelers To Use 'Extreme Caution' When Visiting Missouri

http://www.npr.org/2017/08/03/541382...iting-missouri

The NAACP has issued a travel advisory for the state of Missouri, citing recent "race-based incidents" and new state legislation that makes it harder for fired employees to prove racial discrimination.

It's the first time the national civil rights organization has issued a travel warning for an entire state, the Kansas City Star reports.

What must it be like to live there every day.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Well, the State can either take immediate actions to vigorously address the concerns of the NAACP, or be at risk for embargos that could seriously impact the economic well being of the State. I'm an amateur so just speculating, but seems highly likely to me. I'm confident the good people of MO will do whatever it takes to insure the safety and well being of all visitors and citizens. Branson, in particular, relies on tourism, and cant risk travel concerns.
    My posts are opinion and speculation only, and may not be used for any purpose outside of this forum.

Quote Originally Posted by elfie View Post
    NAACP Warns Black Travelers To Use 'Extreme Caution' When Visiting Missouri

http://www.npr.org/2017/08/03/541382...iting-missouri
    Should be on the CIA list of places to stay away from if you are a tourist. Or is there an international site that advises tourists?

Quote Originally Posted by human View Post
    Should be on the CIA list of places to stay away from if you are a tourist. Or is there an international site that advises tourists?
    The State Department advises Americans about where not to go.

I think in the last year or two a few countries advised their citizens to stay out of the USA but I've forgotten which.