780 users online (177 members and 603 guests)  

Websleuths News

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Eternal embrace? Couple still hugging 5,000 years on!

Call it the eternal embrace.

Archaeologists in Italy have discovered a couple buried 5,000 to 6,000 years ago, hugging each other.

"It's an extraordinary case," said Elena Menotti, who led the team on their dig near the northern city of Mantova.

"There has not been a double burial found in the Neolithic period, much less two people hugging -- and they really are hugging."

Menotti said she believed the two, almost certainly a man and a woman although that needs to be confirmed, died young because their teeth were mostly intact and not worn down.

"I must say that when we discovered it, we all became very excited. I've been doing this job for 25 years. I've done digs at Pompeii, all the famous sites," she told Reuters.

"But I've never been so moved because this is the discovery of something special."

A laboratory will now try to determine the couple's age at the time of death and how long they had been buried.

Picture at link:
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20070206/sc_nm/italy_embrace_dc;_ylt=Aj5QRfLYwXwK64oXhIxbI7ms0NUE

Follow me on the Twitter! @EricDiesel1972

Deuteronomy 18:10-12 (KJV)

10 There shall not be found among you anyone who makes his son or his daughter pass through the fire, or one who practices witchcraft, or a soothsayer, or one who interprets omens, or a sorcerer, 11 or one who conjures spells, or a medium, or a spiritist, or one who calls up the dead. 12 For all who do these things are an abomination to the Lord. (KJV)

Follow me at my Biblical Blog: http://scripture-demystified.blogspot.com

Baruch ha Shem Adonai.

Awww, that's sweet. And sad in a way.

Quote Originally Posted by IdahoMom
    Awww, that's sweet. And sad in a way.
    It is sweet but sad, maybe it was a double suicide or why else would they have died at the same time or hugging each other.

Quote Originally Posted by Shazza