1129 users online (267 members and 862 guests)  


Websleuths News


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    399

    Problem with my computer

    My computer problem is everytime I go to a different page I have to refresh why is that?

    I would be Grateful for any help!!!!!!!
    Joann thank you for showing me all the beautiful things in this world especially yourself!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,332
    Quote Originally Posted by nappy2 View Post
    My computer problem is everytime I go to a different page I have to refresh why is that?

    I would be Grateful for any help!!!!!!!
    Try clearing your cookies & temporary internet files. That might make a difference.

    Also check to see if you have any internet "accelerator" programs running, these cache pages to make it seem like the page is loading quicker than it actually is.

    Check for adware, spyware & browser hijacks too. Make sure your antivirus is up to date.

    To do a free quick online check for viruses, spyware & other malware you can use Trend Micro Housecall.

    Hope that helps.

    blaize

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    399
    Quote Originally Posted by blaize View Post
    Try clearing your cookies & temporary internet files. That might make a difference.

    Also check to see if you have any internet "accelerator" programs running, these cache pages to make it seem like the page is loading quicker than it actually is.

    Check for adware, spyware & browser hijacks too. Make sure your antivirus is up to date.

    To do a free quick online check for viruses, spyware & other malware you can use Trend Micro Housecall.

    Hope that helps.



    blaize

    First of all thank you for your help !!!!!

    I'm going to try what you said and again thank you!!!
    Joann thank you for showing me all the beautiful things in this world especially yourself!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,332
    Welcome nappy2, hope it works out for you.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,395
    Also, you should check and make sure this is marked in your Options setting:
    Tools
    Internet Options
    Browsing History
    Settings
    and make sure it has checked "Every time I visit a webpage" under "Check for newer versions of stored pages"

    This refreshes your screen automatically for you each time you access a website more than once.

    “Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth.” Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Sr.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    399
    I want to thank you guys so much I did what you guys said to do and it work!!!!!

    Thank you once again
    Joann thank you for showing me all the beautiful things in this world especially yourself!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    LI NY
    Posts
    355

    Unhappy

    I have a computer problem now..ever since I cliked on a link in one of the threads here..I wanted to see a video if a crash and it said activeX had to be downloaded..I thought nothing of it because I use activeX with a lot of the games I play and never had a problem with it..when the video started to play it was PORN ..Now I keep getting norton telling me that it has blocked somewhere trying to change my home page..and I get an alert telling me that I should download some software that someplace reccomends to remove the virus..Norton is all up to date and I ran scans of everything.. I want to cry..never had a virus befor and dont want one now. I cant use my ctl alt and delete keys..it says that the task manager has been disabled by the adminstrator . I am the admin on my puter and I didnt disable anything..

    here is one of the things I get:

    windows has detected an Internet Attack attempt..somebodys trying to infect your pc with spyware or harmful viruses.Run full system scan now to protect your PC from Internet attacks,hijacking attempts ans spyware! Clik here to download spyware remover for total protection.

    I clik on cancel because I dont want to download anything I dont know about or who it came from..I also have 3 new icons on my desktop..

    Error cleaner,
    http://viruswebprotect.com/shandler....=6&said=0&sg=1


    Spyware and malwar protection

    http://viruswebprotect.com/shandler....=6&said=0&sg=2

    and also privacy protector.

    http://viruswebprotect.com/shandler....=6&said=0&sg=0

    I got the links from their properties.

    HELP!!!!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    13,720
    I have used Spybot in the past and have found it affective ,
    http://spywarebot.com/?hop=advanced9...gid=1072645447.

    I have also run regcure and it has also helped to clean up my computer.

    http://www.regcure.com/.
    Good Luck

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    10,387
    Quote Originally Posted by Penelope631 View Post
    I have a computer problem now..ever since I cliked on a link in one of the threads here..I wanted to see a video if a crash and it said activeX had to be downloaded..I thought nothing of it because I use activeX with a lot of the games I play and never had a problem with it..when the video started to play it was PORN ..Now I keep getting norton telling me that it has blocked somewhere trying to change my home page..and I get an alert telling me that I should download some software that someplace reccomends to remove the virus..Norton is all up to date and I ran scans of everything.. I want to cry..never had a virus befor and dont want one now. I cant use my ctl alt and delete keys..it says that the task manager has been disabled by the adminstrator . I am the admin on my puter and I didnt disable anything..

    here is one of the things I get:

    windows has detected an Internet Attack attempt..somebodys trying to infect your pc with spyware or harmful viruses.Run full system scan now to protect your PC from Internet attacks,hijacking attempts ans spyware! Clik here to download spyware remover for total protection.

    I clik on cancel because I dont want to download anything I dont know about or who it came from..I also have 3 new icons on my desktop..

    Error cleaner,
    http://viruswebprotect.com/shandler....=6&said=0&sg=1


    Spyware and malwar protection

    http://viruswebprotect.com/shandler....=6&said=0&sg=2

    and also privacy protector.

    http://viruswebprotect.com/shandler....=6&said=0&sg=0

    I got the links from their properties.

    HELP!!!!!

    Go to www.techsupportguy.org sign up for free account (I am cj2448 there)

    Go to this area and start a thread.... copy and paste everything you posted here to your post there. They will walk you step by step , for FREE.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    LI NY
    Posts
    355
    Thank you Christine


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    LI NY
    Posts
    355
    Christine, it wont confirm my email addy..it says my email is legit but it wont accept in the next box so I can complete regestration

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    10,387
    Quote Originally Posted by Penelope631 View Post
    Christine, it wont confirm my email addy..it says my email is legit but it wont accept in the next box so I can complete regestration
    Email help and they will get your reggied...if for some reason you still can't get on, I will set you up and acct and send you userid and pw, you can change once you get on.


    Let me know!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    LI NY
    Posts
    355
    thanks

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    LI NY
    Posts
    355
    Christine I was able to log in using my old laptop I have posted my problem like you suggested,,How long will it take for someone to help me out? I am not used to this 12" screen

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    10,387
    Quote Originally Posted by Penelope631 View Post
    Christine I was able to log in using my old laptop I have posted my problem like you suggested,,How long will it take for someone to help me out? I am not used to this 12" screen

    Just depend on whose online...if you don't get a response in 24 hours, 'bump' it up....also...look to see who is online, if their name is bolded they are usually certified to help, you can PM one and say (very sweetly, LOL) that you posted 24 hours ago and you were really hoping for help, afraid maybe our thread was accidentally looked over. It is VERY busy there, and that happens....I would say 24 hours is way too long..I have never had to wait more than few hours..but sometimes I will get someone helpign me that is on another time zone and I would have to wait till next day to 'move on' with fixing.

    Free help, a bit of the drawback...but once someone gets on your thread they will help you through it.



    Keep me posted!

    Also, please give link to your thread so I can check it out!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast