MO - Kara Kopetsky, 17 - 2007; Jessica Runions, 21 - 2016; found deceased - *ARREST*

Status
Not open for further replies.
A year? The most I've seen (just though a quick Google search) is six months. I can't find my link now, but I was reading earlier that if they cannot ID a body from dental records, they will use DNA testing which I know can take a few months. But a whole year? I don't think I can stand it.

I'm doubting an entire year too, not sure why those tweeters are saying that/where they're pulling that from. Probably BS.

I am SO sorry at how morbid this is, but if all they have is a skull I don't think they can get DNA especially if it's 10 years old. I could be totally wrong but a quick google search basically says you can sometimes determine sex but that's not even always correct.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Is there absolutely no way to pull DNA from a skull without teeth? Surely there is. But I'm not an expert at all.

Authority's have dental records , but we don't know if complete skull
Was found , possibly not based on those statements.

I am SO sorry at how morbid this is, but if all they have is a skull I don't think they can get DNA especially if it's 10 years old. I could be totally wrong but a quick google search basically says you can sometimes determine sex but that's not even always correct. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you. I was reading that sometimes if they can't use dental records, they can extract DNA from the teeth. Granted that they are still intact. But you are absolutely right. I hope they've found more than just her skull.

I hope Kara's parents still have her dentals

LE has had Kara's dental records and DNA on file for years. Unfortunately, this is not the first body they have tried to match to Kara. There was also a living person they thought might be her a few years back, but the DNA didn't match.