Found Deceased CA - Blaze Bernstein, 19, Lake Forest, 2 Jan 2018 #2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Though I have no direct knowledge of Blaze's parents, I would not be surprised if their doctor has them under fairly heavy sedation with anti-anxiety medication at this time. In fact, I tend to believe that may be more likely than not.

I worked on an adult in-patient, locked psychiatric unit of a regular hospital for the last fifteen years of my nursing career. Was Charge Nurse for the last seven.

We often had people admitted who had lost children and were understandably, having great difficulty coping. Their doctors kept them under heavy sedation with anti-anxiety meds until they had a better grasp on their tragic situations.

The medication makes them move and process conversation much more slowly.

I remember one mother particularly. Her 11 y/o daughter went out for a bike ride on their quiet suburban street. When she didn't come home the mother went searching. She didn't have to go very far before she found her a few houses down. Dead, next to her bike, a victim of hit and run.

We kept the mother under very heavy sedation. She was the first one I thought of when I saw Blaze's mother in the videos.

I could be wrong of course but I know myself, I would not cope well. I believe his parents are going through the worst nightmare possible. People under extreme stress do not react as they normally do.

I myself, am giving them a whole lot of leeway before I do any judging of whether their reactions are what I call appropriate or not...

JMO

I agree, she looks medicated, with good reason.

I get a feeling he is suffering from bipolar. People with this condition can be exceptionally brilliant. Him cooking dinner and shopping before he left indicates he was manic which can lead to an increase in risk taking behavior. They are also at an increased risk for suicide and can go days without sleeping.