Found Deceased OH - Harley Dilly, 14, walking to Port Clinton High School, 20 Dec 2019 #5

Status
Not open for further replies.
Are you sure about that? I’m not good at geometry but I thought it would be 8” across making it 4” from the center.
Oooh!! Noooooo, now that you say that, I am absolutely not sure about that at all. Sorry, I am terrible at math. Please correct me if I'm wrong. Sorry, sorry. I am not a math person. Although, it still seems like glasses no problem to get out and a coat being fabric could go through. (And did.) But ya, might be less big of a hole than I envisioned. Thanks. ;)

I get the impression from reading a few articles about accidental positional asphixiation (assuming that's what happened), death could have occurred fairly quickly. Unconsciousness within 30 minutes. Especially if he was upside down too. If his chest was compressed due to cramped space (fixed expiration), then add in the issues with blood circulation due to gravity, I don't think he would have survived more than an hour or two. JMO and my fervent hope that he didn't suffer long.

Here's an example: 'Burglar' suffocated to death after becoming trapped in chimney of

An 8 inch diameter if you think about it, is somewhat large. It's 8 inches from every direction. Not big enough for a child to squeeze through especially with no room to maneuver, but big enough for glasses and even a malleable coat.

Are you sure about that? I’m not good at geometry but I thought it would be 8” across making it 4” from the center.

Four inches from the center is still eight inches across. And from every direction of the chimney.

That said, I don't recall reading anything saying that the flue opening the coat and glasses came out of, was 8" .. is that a presumption on our part or did I miss it?