Tai chi eases fibromyalgia symptoms, study finds

Wow, interesting this should come up today. I've only left my sofa twice today. DD to school/DD from school. My joints have me in misery.

I've not been dx with fibromyalgia yet but after 7-8 drs and tons of "normal" test results for everthing else under the sun, I feel a fibromyalgia dx is on my horizon.

I will definitly look into this. Thanks so much for the info!

Thank you Dark Knight. This could prove to provide some relief for all that are suffering. News like this can't come at at better time.

We can always count on you to keep us up to date.

Always
Goz:angel:

I'm no expert, but I did do a year of Tai Chi with one of my theater classes.

It's quite gentle, actually (at least for beginners). It's also rather spiritual--but not in a dogmatic, "You must believe in a certain deity or any deity at all," sort of way. Not even the most devout atheist could object.

For those with joint problems or fibromyalgia, I can't see how it could possibly hurt to try...

I have had severe fibromyalgia for 16 years. I have thought about trying Tai Chi, but am reticent as physical exercise usually exacerbates me to the point of being unable to walk or move my arms. Even water exercise makes it so I can't walk. But, I think I will look into it. One never knows.

I have had severe fibromyalgia for 16 years. I have thought about trying Tai Chi, but am reticent as physical exercise usually exacerbates me to the point of being unable to walk or move my arms. Even water exercise makes it so I can't walk. But, I think I will look into it. One never knows.

I'm no more a doctor than I am a Tai Chi expert, so I trust you won't take any advice from me on the subject.

But the beginning classes I took had more to do with breathing and learning to achieve certain poses than with what we think of as "strenuous" exercise. That's not to say no effort is required, but it may not be the type of effort that leaves you debilitated.