Cadaver dog hit on scent in DBs bedroom

Status
Not open for further replies.
Moving post from another thread:

There are a lot of different compounds. But the dogs are TRAINED using cadaverine and putrescine, which is only available to certain trainers, under specific conditions. You can't just walk in a store and buy it. (In fact, it is so hard to get that only elite trainers can get it - everyone else has to use synthetic or PIG scent. Seriously. And those dogs are going to have many more false hits.)

So this scent is what the dogs learn on. They obviously can't smell a real cadaver - so they use these substances, because they are present in EVERY cadaver. But the same stuff is also in other body fluids. And that's the problem here.

I am no expert in how the dogs are trained but I think there are other things present in various bodily fluids and other remains that the dogs can distinguish between. I also think that vomit, semen, urine, feces are not that hard to get so that IMO they should be readily available for practice so that the dog can be trained not to hit on those. Unavailability of those substances is not an excuse not to do so if you want your dog to be useful in searching houses that may once have had cadavers in them.

As I said - normally a dog is running around, looking for a body. If it smells urine, the handler sees that there is no body there, and they move along. It's not even really considered a "hit" usually (so that the hit/miss ratio stays high). They don't really care about the smell - they are looking for the body.

If the presence or absence of a body is readily visible why do they even need the dog?