LA - Mickey Shunick, 21, Lafayette, 19 May 2012 - #20

Status
Not open for further replies.
What time of year is alligator season in LA? I always got the idea that it was summer time for some reason? If that is the case, I'd bet alligators move into areas less populated by humans at that time. Alligators are pretty intelligent creatures.

I'm not an expert on these things, but aren't gators cold-blooded reptiles? Most of those are more active when it is hotter, right? You'd think I'd know better having lived in Louisiana all my life, but the reality is, I've only seen them at the zoo and a few times fishing. They have always just disappeared beneath the murky waters when we got close fishing. Every time I've made a mental note to NOT fall out the boat (I'm a klutz).

I'm no expert, but I got this from an expert of sorts :waitasec:... Troy on Swamp People said on a recent episode that gators eat more/bite more when it's HOT! (Ooops... giving away my secret passion!....)

Lol. You're probably right. It's been so long. Thanks!

In order to get a hit in CODIS, there first has to be DNA to submit. If Mickey is ever found and was dumped in water, there likely will be no DNA.

But, let's just hypothetically say there is DNA. A detective may not get a hit right away. They will have to dutifully keep resubmitting the DNA on a regular basis because DNA is added over time.

In the abduction/murder of 13-year-old Krystal Baker from Texas City in 1996, they had DNA from the perp's semen found on her dress. His DNA was not submitted into CODIS until 2010 when he was stopped for a DUI in Louisiana. He was arrested in Groves, TX, in 2010, tried this past April, and convicted of capital murder.

This isn't a common occurrence. Many states do not require DNA swabs be taken from criminals. More take lots of time before submitting it into CODIS and some states never submit it at all.