Verdict is in! GUILTY of MURDER ONE - Hung Jury On Penalty Phase

Status
Not open for further replies.
You know what? If she had done this to a total stranger, there is NO WAY she would have gotten anything less than the death penalty.

I wish I had never heard his interview.

It shouldn't matter that there were some angry text messages there. What she did was CRUEL, and if Travis had been a stranger, she would have gotten the death penalty.

Respectfully snipped. One of my soapboxes is how intimate relationships devalue victims in the courtroom. I am not a social scientist-but I see this time and time again. Abigail Young (in my signature) was found guilty of endangering her child. She put her child into the hands of a child rapist, covered up the rapes when she came onto CPS's radar and then not only cleaned up the crime scene when Emma was beaten and raped for the final time...she let her die by the side of the road before she called for help.

Endangering her child? Really? Pick a domestic violence case....it it were a stranger crime, the penalty would be far more severe. It's like there is some kind of ownership or entitlement when the victim is an intimate partner or biologically related.

:banghead:

Yep. In her allocution she mentioned a different prison than Perryville...
Did she really not know where she'd be going?
Had she not talked to women in the jail who had served time in prison?
She admits in one interview that she didn't know what kind of opportunities to serve others/participate in programs would be available
Did she just make all of that up to manipulate the jurors? Make them think her life would be days of book clubs, Spanish classes, recycling etc.
Perryville sounds brutal.