Help With FOIA Request

• Thread starter Deleted member 96356
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 96356

(mods I hope this is in the right section, please let me know if I screwed up)

Hi all,

I am doing some research that requires an FOIA request and since I've never done this before, who better to turn to than the seasoned research pros at WS. :) Hoping some of you that have had successful FOIA requests could give me some input.

Here is the letter I've done [identifying info redacted]:

Dear FOIA Officer:
Pursuant to the federal Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552, I request access to and copies of the contents of case file *advertiser censored*. This case file pertains to *advertiser censored*.
I would like to receive the information in paper format.
I agree to pay reasonable duplication fees for the processing of this request in an amount not to exceed *advertiser censored*. However, please notify me prior to your incurring any expenses in excess of that amount.
If my request is denied in whole or part, I ask that you justify all deletions by reference to specific exemptions of the act. I will also expect you to release all segregable portions of otherwise exempt material. I, of course, reserve the right to appeal your decision to withhold any information or to deny a waiver of fees.
As this information is of timely value, I would appreciate your communicating with me by telephone, rather than by mail, if you have questions regarding this request.
I look forward to your reply within 20 business days, as the statute requires.
Thank you for your assistance.
Sincerely,
*advertiser censored*

Is there anything you would add or subtract? Any helpful tips from successful requests you've done? I did go to their FOIA help page and learned as much as I could but something tells me it's stacked against the requester unless you word everything exactly right (bureaucrats). Would like to get it right the first time and not go through resubmissions, denials, appeals.