Discussion in 'Wyoming' started by MissieMt, Sep 29, 2008.
Please post here any current laws/alerts in place relating to the Missing/UID.
WYOMING MISSING PERSONS STATUTES
During the 1990 Wyoming legislative session, the legislature mandated The Office of the Attorney General shall establish and operate a central repository of information and clearinghouse on missing children and missing persons. (Reference 90LSO-0206, Section 200, subsection (e)
The Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation responded by establishing the Missing Person Clearinghouse on May 1, 1990. Responsibility for the Clearinghouse was assigned to the Control Terminal Section within the Division of Criminal Investigation. The Control Terminal Section was selected because of the established ties with the National Crime Information Center. A database was established to provide statistics and reports for the Missing Person Clearinghouse. This database includes information identifying the individual, limited personal descriptors, the jurisdiction holding the missing person report, and dates indicating when reported missing and when located.
NATIONAL CRIME INFORMATION CENTER
Information entered into the Clearinghouse database is the result of entries into NCIC (National Crime Information Center) by Wyoming law enforcement agencies. NCIC has established the following five categories for entry of missing persons:
Disability - A person of any age who is missing and under proven physical/mental disability or is senile, thereby subjecting himself/herself or others to personal and immediate danger.
Endangered - A person of any age who is missing under circumstances indicating his/her safety may be in danger.
Involuntary - A person of any age who is missing under circumstances indicating the disappearance may not have been voluntary, i.e., abduction or kidnaping.
Juvenile - A person under the age of 21 who is missing and does not meet any of the criteria set forth in any of the other categories.
Catastrophe Victim - A person of any age who is missing after a catastrophe.
Other - A person over the age of 21 not meeting the criteria for entry into any other category who is missing and for whom there is a reasonable concern for his/her safety.
A record for a missing person who is under the age of 21 shall be entered into NCIC within 2 hours, using one of the appropriate categories (Disability, Endangered, Involuntary, Juvenile, or Catastrophe Victim). A missing person report filed with an agency is sufficient documentation for entering a juvenile.
A record for a missing person who is over the age of 21 may be entered in the NCIC Missing Person File provided the entering agency has signed documentation in its possession supporting the stated conditions under which the person is declared missing. This written documentation will aid in the protection of the individuals right to privacy.
NCIC does not require a waiting period for the entry of a person into the NCIC Missing Person File. In December of 1990, the use of waiting periods such as 24 or 48 hours before entering a missing person into NCIC by law enforcement agencies was prohibited by federal law (National Child Search Assistance act, 1990). Within 60 days after entry, a child who is still listed as missing in NCIC, must have dental records and other identifiable information, if available, entered into NCIC.
CHAPTER 11 - SAFETY FOR A NEWBORN CHILD
14-11-104.ï¿½ Newborn child identity.
Unless reliable and sufficient identifying information relating to the newborn child has been provided, the department of family services shall work with law enforcement agencies in an effort to ensure that the newborn child has not been identified as a missing child.
WYOMING AMBER ALERT CRITERIA
Law enforcement confirms a child has been abducted.
A child is considered seventeen years old or younger.
Law enforcement will only activate an Amber Alert if it is believed the circumstances surrounding the abduction indicate that the child is in danger of serious bodily harm or death.
There is enough descriptive information about the child, abductor, and/or suspect's vehicle to believe an immediate broadcast alert will help in the safe return of the child.
Subscribe to Wyoming Wireless Amber Alerts
CHAPTER 12 - ADMINISTRATION OF ESTATES OF MISSING PERSONS
2-12-101.ï¿½ Filing of petition; information to be shown; appointing day for hearing. Whenever any resident of this state who owns or is entitled to the possession of any real or personal property situate therein is missing, or his whereabouts is unknown for ninety (90) days, and a verified petition is presented to the court of the county of which the missing person is a resident representing that the whereabouts of the missing person has been for such time and still is unknown, that his estate requires attention, supervision and care of ownership, and setting forth the names, ages and residence of the relatives of the missing person who would be heirs at law were the missing person deceased, the court shall order the petition to be filed and appoint a day for hearing the petition not less than ten (10) days from the date of the order.
Reports of missing persons should be made to the local law enforcement agency of jurisdiction. To check on the status of the NCIC entry and the Wyoming Missing Person data base, contact can be made through the following:
Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation
Control Terminal Unit
Missing Person Clearinghouse
316 West 22nd St
Cheyenne, WY 82002
A Child Is Missing works in concert with Amber Alert and all child safety programs.
A Child Is Missing is the only program of its kind in the country.
A Child Is Missing program should not be confused with the Amber Alert, which is designed for stranger abductions, geographically removed from area of disappearance.
A Child Is Missing has very few restrictions and can be activated by one simple phone call.
Law enforcement needs no special equipment or personnel to activate A Child Is Missing.
Separate names with a comma.