Found Deceased IA - Elizabeth Collins, 8, & Lyric Cook, 10, Evansdale, 13 July 2012 - #37

Welcome to Websleuths!
Click to learn how to make a missing person's thread

DNA Solves
DNA Solves
DNA Solves
Status
Not open for further replies.
I have never believed this had anything to do with the parents drug use or dealing. Prior to my retirement, I worked in the criminal justice field for 37 years and I don't recall a single instance of family members being killed or even threatened by fellow drug dealers. They go after the dealer themselves if they feel cheated or ripped off. That sort of thing happens mostly in the movies and on TV.

Now, perhaps someone who used drugs with the parents or bought from them may have seen the girls and lusted after them. The chances of that are much better. Most drug users/dealers are rapist or pedophiles, they are just that-druggies.

I agree with all of the above.

In other cultures (mostly Central and South America), the cartels do go after family members but it's mostly kidnapping for ransom. Here in the US and particularly in Iowa, hardly ever.

My own thinking is that the girls were at roughly the same level of risk. A successful sexual predator really can't afford the loss of control that happens with drugs.

With all of the confusion that was going on when they first went missing, how well did LE scrutinize the alibis? Was J.C's alibi his girlfriend?

Morrissey's court appearance Friday came hours after one of the girls' uncles, Jeremiah Cook of Waterloo, was hospitalized following an apparent overdose. Cook, 32, had been very close to the girls and was having trouble eating and sleeping since they disappeared, his mother, Wylma Cook, said.

She said Jeremiah was recovering in a Waterloo hospital and was expected to be okay.

"It all took a toll on him," Wylma Cook said. "My grandchildren were his prize possessions. He loved the children, and he's a very soft-hearted person."