Found Deceased CA - Lucas Horan, 39, Emeryville Marina, 24 Dec 2020

Despite having grown up on a major lake where boating was a main event, I have no knowledge of boating or boating etiquette, so please help me understand. After you take your boat out for a cruise, don't you need to tie it back up and do "other things" once it's in the marina slip? It seems courteous if you are a guest on a boat to assist with that. It's possible Lucas said, "I'm training for this crazy race so I'm going to jump into this cold water with all of my clothes on and swim back to the dock. See ya later," but I feel like he would've helped his friend take care of the boat and wrap up for the night and then parted from there, even if he did swim back to shore. (snipped for length).

This is a great point. I'm also unsure of what work may need to be done, but it does seem odd to me to agree to go on a little boating excursion, only to jump off the boat and swim back. I don't go for a drive and tell someone "nah don't worry, I'll run back". But I'm also not an ultrarunner.

He was going to "see the christmas lights on the boats", any idea where that would be? I've seen photos of boats all lit up by the San fran bridge (seems to be a yearly thing), unsure if that's what they meant.
Maybe let's try to find the place the boat would have gone to and trace a sort of example path? I assume the boats would have been further away than the distance he swam but maybe I'm wrong.
In the case that they were driving back, why would the boat owner just stay back if he was on his way home anyway? Also, 100-200 yards is far to swim, but not very far to boat (a couple minutes at most? He would beat him to the Marina for sure).